Hard Lessons Learned From Having A Film Office In Beverly Hills by Dale Stelly

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: Can you tell us a time in your life when you were the most broke making films?

Dale Stelly, Filmmaker: Most broke? Man…I remember…true story. 2006 I moved my office to Beverly Hills, I had an office off of Beverly Drive. It was in a famous building, ICM was in there. I was in Spike Lee’s old office. I remember I was still getting his mail and for his manager or producing partner or something.

And I had started my business out of my apartment and sold a couple of films and I’m like alright, I’m going to take my business and I’m trying to grow. So I had agreed to open up this office in Beverly Hills. I remember the rent was high as hell. So I had my rent for the office and I had my rent for where I was living and I ended up partnering with another friend of mine at the back lot of Universal and that was some money involved there, too.

I remember in 2006 I shot three movies and it wasn’t easy and I remember after shooting those three movies it had just exhausted all of my funds. I remember one of those movies kind of went over budget or something like that. So it was like Ah…man! I got hit with not having money to pay my rent for the office…or I had to get out of there. One of those things, I couldn’t afford to stay there. So I wound up…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

_______________________________________________________________

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily — subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Subscribe to the second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!