How A Director Creates The World Of A Story — Dan Attias

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2022

--

Image from DanAttias.com

Dan Attias, Director, Producer and Author: He had originally played it really oppositionally “Then I’m a rat!” You know angry at him and I said “Since we’re dramatizing a transition, I think it’d be much better if you realize you can’t communicate to this guy.”

Film Courage: Can you tell us some of the challenges you faced directing the second episode of The Sopranos?

Dan: The Sopranos was interesting. I had met David Chase when he was a showrunner on Northern Exposure which was a wonderful show in the mid 90’s, which I really recommend people seek out. David then went on to direct the pilot for The Sopranos and there were several months before HBO decided to make it as a series and I was very honored and happy that David called me to direct the first episode that would air following the pilot. The company came together I think six or nine months after the original pilot had been shot. When I saw the pilot I just said Oh my God! This is the greatest thing I’ve ever seen. There were challenges. It was almost like shooting a pilot again because it was a whole new…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!