How Does A Filmmaker Get Their Start? by Alexandria Bombach of ON HER SHOULDERS Documentary

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
5 min readNov 12, 2018

--

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: In viewing your website for RED REEL Video production, you have a bio saying “It was founded in 2009” and “It was born out of the recession — because if you can get a job out of college, you might as well do exactly what you want to do.”

Even though we’re supposedly in a robust recovery, I know a lot of people are still feeling the effects of the recession. Can you talk about creating your own job essentially?

Alexandria Bombach, Director, Cinematographer, Editor: I graduated in 2008 and I went to business school because I was filming since I was a kid and I bought my first camera when I was 13. I don’t think it ever really occurred to me that filmmaking could be a possibility, it was just a way too cool for me. It didn’t even occur to me that it was ever going to happen. That didn’t even cross my mind.

Image from Alexandriabombach.com

I ran away from home when I was about 16 and so there was kind of a pull-yourself-up-by-your-bootstraps kind of a big recognition of Oh, I need to have stability in my life. So when I did go to college it was for business and focused on that.

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!