How Does A Screenwriter Write The Right Story At The Right Time? by Wendy Kram

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: As we wrap up I would love to hear a success story from you Wendy. And if you can, please leave out any identifying information (that’s kind of a rule we have here).

Wendy Kram, Owner of Wendy’s LA4hire: One would be from something that was quite awhile ago that I had read a play by a writer and I was so enamored with the story. It was made and was on CBS and it wound up being called SALLY HEMINGS: AN AMERICAN SCANDAL. And what I love about the story is that she had written it and I had first found out about it about seven or nine years before it got made. And all I’ll say is that stars were aligned and what happened was I came close to selling it within the first two years that they had the project it was under option (I think when I was at Hearst Entertainment) and came close but didn’t sell it.

And then one day the writer and I read in the trades that Merchant Ivory had sold a movie called JEFFERSON IN PARIS with Nick Nolte. And this happens in the business. Invariably it happens to everyone. And right now I have two projects where there are other competing projects in the marketplace and we’re trying to get our’s done first…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

_______________________________________________________________

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily — subscribe at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Subscribe to the second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!