How Does Someone Know They Are Meant To Be An Actor? by Rhomeyn Johnson

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: Was there a point in your life early on or whenever where you knew all you were going to be able to do was act?

Rhomeyn Johnson, Actor: Yes, I had that thing, if you want to call it an epiphany. I had that way back…I had it when I got out of college. My father had a bowling buddy who was a claims adjuster for a life insurance company and Mr. Blackwell he got me a job coming out of school for the company. The funny thing is I was supposed to be an outside claim’s rep which means that I was supposed to working in the office half-time and go out and take pictures and go do stuff in the field.

Rhomeyn Johnson in Liberty Mutual Insurance commercial

It’s ironic that I couldn’t handle the freedom of being out. I didn’t have the discipline at that point to handle the freedom of being out on the road for the job. I couldn’t handle it. And what’s really crazy is in what I do now [full time acting/voiceover work], it’s all that. Because I’m self-employed and I’ve been that way for years. But I couldn’t stay on that job because I recognized that it wasn’t for me and I was like Okay, this is really weird. I can’t do this. And the day I quit that job was the day that I was supposed to be there for a meeting and I missed the meeting because I was just in my little apartment. I was just like Oh man, this is just not, I’m not going to make it. I mean I was floundering in my mind at that point.

I was late coming into the office. When I got there my boss was like Where the hell were you? You missed the meeting. I said There’s no need for that. He said What do you mean no need for that? I said I quit!

So I had my little dictaphone and my little camera and all my…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Rhomeyn Johnson on Parks and Recreation

_______________________________________________________________

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily — subscribe at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Subscribe to the second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!