How Passionflix Got Its Start by Co-Founder and CEO Tosca Musk

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2018

--

(Watch the video on Youtube here)

Film Courage: When did the idea for Passionflix begin?

Passionflix Co-Founder and CEO, Tosca Musk: The idea for Passionflix came about, it was actually Joany’s idea. Joany Kane is our founding partner. She had the idea quite a few years ago. When FIFTY SHADES OF GREY came out, she was wondering why there isn’t a place for romance novels that had been turned into movies when the movie was such a success. So she actually got the URL (passionflix.com) and said “I’m going to do this.” And then many years later nothing happened to it. Until one New Year’s Eve she decided I’m going to make it happen and she booked a flight to Los Angeles. And it just so happens that Joany and I had met a few months prior. She had watched a movie of mine on Aeon [Network] called YOU CAST A SPELL ON ME. And she contacted me the next day and said “I absolutely loved your movie. I loved how you directed that movie and I would really love it if you would take one of my movies and direct that.”

Read the post on TechCrunch here about Passionflix

And normally you get a lot of people that solicit you and normally you’re like “No, I’m going to ignore that.” But her note was so sweet and she was just so open in her communication…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!