How Script Pipeline Helped A Screenwriter Get Their Movie Made by Jay Silverman of OFF THE MENU

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2018
(Watch the video on FilmCourage.com here)

Film Courage: Your new comedy Jay OFF THE MENU, it’s a romantic comedy set in New Mexico based on food, love, different things. And I want to hear more about it in a little bit, but I’m so curious about how the screenwriter. I think you said off-camera it was though Script Pipeline? At a screenplay meet-and-greet or something?

Jay Silverman, director, producer, photographer: Right.

Film Courage: Can we talk about what it was like to go there, what your expectations were and how it was to sit down with these different screenwriters?

Jay Silverman: I’m going to help you here…

Film Courage: Okay.

Jay Silverman: When I set out to make my next movie, Bethany [Cerrona] my producer suggested we go to a screenwriter’s pipeline kind of day in Hollywood where producers are invited to meet screenwriters. And it sounds to me a little bit like an overwhelming joke, but it turned out to be pretty fascinating as a producer (as well as a director) to sit face-to-face with screenwriters that have busted their butts to actually meet people and share their hard work that could actually make a decision on taking this project to market…(Watch the video on FilmCourage.com here).

Want more Film Courage? Check out Film Courage 2 on Youtube here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!