How To Become A Full-Time Filmmaker by Mark Harris

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
1 min readApr 16, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: You are here from Chicago, you’re in LA screening at the Pan African Film Festival (PAFF-LA)?

Mark Harris, Filmmaker: Yes.

Film Courage: Are you a full-time filmmaker in Chicago or do you have another job?

Mark: I am a full-time filmmaker in Chicago. This is what I do. This is how I provide for my family. I don’t do anything but make films.

Again, I have a marketing company (what I use to market my films). But the way that I provide for my family is through filmmaking.

Film Courage: For filmmakers who haven’t figured out the business side yet, what advice can you give them? And how can you explain the different ways that a filmmaker can get out of having a 9-to-5 job?

Mark: Great question. Here’s how you can definitely get out. Say for instance you asked the question previously about a filmmaker who makes a film for $20,000…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

_________________________________________________________________

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!