How To Learn Screenwriting Without School by Peter Dukes

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMar 27, 2020
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: How did you learn to write a feature-length script?

Peter Dukes, Writer/Director: I never went to any master programs. I never went to any film programs that specifically taught me my craft. As I mentioned CU [University of Colorado Boulder] was more about film theory and various things like that. It didn’t really teach me in great depth what you need to do as a director or writer. I had to learn all of that on my own. Whether I did it right or wrong, who’s to say? But for me as I alluded to before, I just wrote and wrote and wrote and wrote. Through all of that writing, through all of those years you start to find your own voice. When I wasn’t writing I was reading…again great scripts, different kinds of scripts (the more types the better). Different styles…you never want to get attached to…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily — subscribe at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Subscribe to the second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!