How To Trick Your Brain Into Writing Better Characters — R.J. Daniel Hanna

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2024

--

Photo by Daniel Öberg on Unsplash

Film Courage: What’s your process for creating character?

R.J. Hanna, Filmmaker: Character for me, it’s all together the same thing of trying to write them and see how they talk. I know everyone’s different. When I’m writing the characters they talk to each other and have their own voice.

Something that I’m interested in is how people speak. It’s something I keep track of when I meet people. I’m interested in everyone else’s dialects I guess. I often get it through talking, through how they talk to each other. Then there is that sense of going back and trying to figure out what is happening underneath. I do try and go back through and be analytical in the sense of:

-What are the wants/needs?

-What is their surface level goal versus the thing that would actually give them satisfaction in life or or actually fulfill them?

-How are those in conflict

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!