I Quit My Job To Start A Production Company And I Haven’t Looked Back — Rory Karpf [FULL INTERVIEW]

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2024

--

Photo by Glib Albovsky on Unsplash

Film Courage: Rory, what inspired you to start your own production company?

Rory Karpf, Filmmaker: I was working at NASCAR at the time and I just wanted to kind of have more control over my own destiny and make more decisions beyond just the creative like control, not just what I did, but how it was done because working at a company sometimes you’re at the mercy of other people’s rules and things like that. I remember I went to the accounting department at NASCAR because they would never let us do the budgets and I really wanted to know how budgets worked. I asked one of the accountants to show me how they did a budget and I actually spent a year there kind of trying to brace myself to leave so that I could learn different things like how do you get your own health insurance and different things like that. When I left I kind of had two projects waiting to work on. I felt like I had a little bit of a cushion, of course immediately they went away when I left but it worked out. I remember being in my office at NASCAR…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!