If Things Are Easy, I Become Uneasy by Writer/Director Andy Rayner of IDLED Movie

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJun 24, 2019
(Read the full Q&A on FilmCourage.com here)

Film Courage: Where did you grow up?

Andy Rayner, Filmmaker: I grew up mostly in Fontana, CA. Life at home has always been difficult. I didn’t grow up in the healthiest of environments, because of either family hardships or harsh and often violent surroundings.

Robin Zamora and Wendy Alvarez in IDLED

Film Courage: Who is your biggest supporter in your life?

Andy: My biggest supporters have always been my girlfriend Jess, my brother Aaron (who’s in the film), my best friend Alice (who mickey was originally based on) and my best friend Martin. They always believed that I had the ability to get out of that place and do something more with my “creativity.” They’ve all gone above and beyond to help me achieve anything I had an idea for.

Film Courage: Did you go to film school?

Andy: I did not. I dropped out of high school to work and taught myself everything from camera work to editing and motion graphics.

“I’d been making little short films here and there for years and never put in too much effort because of so many insecurities. They kind of sat me down and had a mini creative intervention and told me to change how I looked at things. They kind of told me “if you don’t do it now, you never will.” The gravity of that statement floored the hell out of me. So I went for it with a loose idea and pressured myself into writing a script by casting it first. For some reason, I thought that if I had people on board that they’d hold me accountable and they did.”

Film Courage: What are you best at?

Andy: I don’t honestly know. I’d say maybe as far as legitimate skill set goes, I’m probably the best at editing, although I didn’t edit either feature.

Film Courage: What are your failings?

Andy: Constant self-doubt and overwhelming myself with too much at once while always waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Film Courage: Why do you work best with pressure?

Andy: Because pressure and chaos are the most constant variables in my life so, it’s really the only way I know how to get things done. If things are ever easy, I become uneasy…(Read the full Q&A on FilmCourage.com here).

Robin Zamora and Wendy Alvarez in IDLED

Watch UNWHOLLY MOMENTS and IDLED Movie on Vimeo!

CONNECT WITH ANDY RAYNER:

Vimeo for IDLED

Vimeo for UNWHOLLY MOMENTS

Instagram

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!