Improving Screenwriting Skills With Creative Integration by Corey Mandell

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2017
Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Corey Mandell: When I work with a writer I will train them through creative integration. So what we do is make them write to their weakness and hide their strength.

So if I am right-handed and I my left hand is really uncoordinated, if I literally tie my right hand behind my back for a month and I do everything with my left hand, it’s going to get stronger and more coordinated. Now during that month I might spill a lot of things and be very inefficient but over time I’ll develop my left arm and coordination and the strength, then I’ll learn how to integrate the two.

For a conceptual writer they will work exclusively from the intuitive part. They will learn how to turn off the conceptual part. The conceptual part has all these big ideas and worries about story a lot. It has all these anxieties and judgment. And you turn that off and teach them how to create from a pure, authentic, emotional space. Now their writing may not be well-structured. It might not be something they are going to show an agent but through that process their characters will come alive, their dialogue will come alive. And one of the key things when (watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Film Courage: Corey, what are some of the tell-tale signs that a student in one of your classes is using an old writing model?

Corey Mandell: So when I work with writers, I separate story design from story execution. So story design is…if you were going on a vacation and you wanted to have a romantic, relaxing vacation…(watch the video interview here on Youtube).

Watch the video interview on Youtube here
Watch the video interview on Youtube here

CONNECT WITH COREY MANDELL
Coreymandell.net
Twitter

___________________________________________________________________

For more video interviews and articles, please visit the Film Courage Youtube channel — New videos daily at 5:00 p.m. Pacific time!

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!