It’s A Big Mistake To Rush A Movie To The Audience by Zeke Zelker

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: What were some of the biggest mistakes you made early on in your filmmaking career?

Zeke Zelker, Writer/Director/Producer of the transmedia project BILLBOARD: Rushing. Early on I would rush through scripts, rush into production, rush through post production so I could share it. That is probably my biggest problem.

For instance I had this project A.K.A.: It’s a Wiley World! And then I rushed into production because my Dad always wanted to be in a movie and he was dying of cancer.

I literally would wear my heart on my sleeve with a lot of things that I do and the reasons why I do certain things. But that was probably my biggest lesson learned.

Now I take my time. I believe in story R&D [research and development] where I like to make things or break things, test things in front of audiences and see what’s working or not working.

For instance with BILLBOARD we have a web series part of this where we tested it in front of a live audience as a play. I never staged…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

___________________________________________

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!