It’s A Mistake To Not Write A Treatment — Anthony DiBlasi

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Photo by Angelina Litvin on Unsplash

Film Courage: What are your rules for telling a good story?

Anthony DiBlasi, Filmmaker: I think a lot of writers, we write to entertain ourselves first. I think I watch movies, I watched movies my entire life and you create this encyclopedia in your head of what speaks to you as an artist and what you go back to time and time again. I think for me writing a good story always comes down to concept first. What is that 10,000 foot view of an idea and what makes it stand out? That’s for me as a creator.

I’m very much about structure. When I’m writing with Natalie [Natalie Victoria, Actor/Producer/Writer] because she’s coming from an actress point of view, she’s very much about character, which is completely true that I think you can have a bad movie but if you have good characters, people are still going to love it in some ways.

On the flip side, you can have some great characters but you can have very bad structure and story and people will tune out. I think you have to know you’re beginning, middle and end very early on and that they…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!