It’s A Myth That Black Films Don’t Sell Overseas by Mark Harris

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Mark Harris, Writer/Director: Filmmakers have so much control. We don’t really understand the power that we have. When we go to the movies, we set trends.

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

If you look at Boyz ‘n The Hood, if you look at Menace II Society, if you look at Goodfellas, right? People…even Rappers take their names off of movies or off of gangsters of different movies because what we do is so powerful.

I know that as a filmmaker I have to be positive because if I don’t I’m just aiding in the destruction of humanity and I never wanted to be involved in that. I always wanted to stay positive and I want to put out positive content.

I’ve been offered so many times to negative things. I’m like “No. I’m not going to do that.”

As filmmakers we have to be true to…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

_________________________________________________________________

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!