Life Of A 1st AD On A Movie Set by Joe Bohn

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2018
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)
Joe Bohn on the set of DEADLY REUNION with actor/producer Baron Jay

Film Courage: And how long have you been first ADing?

Joe Bohn: Professionally first ADing…a little over 5 years? I moved out from San Francisco (I got my Master’s up there) and one of my associates moved down here as well booked a first AD job for Miley Cyrus for one of her videos. He brought me on as a second AD.

The producers liked him (but they didn’t want to bring him back) so they brought me back instead and they started bringing me back over and over again, recommending me to other producers and that’s kind of the history of everything, that’s the history of my career. I just got recommended and just kind of spider-webbed out from there.

Film Courage: And as a first AD what is your…from the minute you get on set, what is your responsibility? What are you looking for at all time?

Joe Bohn: No dead time. I mean fundamentally you are trying to get the greatest amount of quality footage in the can for the director and the production at any given time. And what usually happens on a lot of sets (especially if you don’t have a strong first) is that downtime where people are ready to work but no one is telling them to work, no one is telling them to go there and …(Watch the video on Youtube here).

From the set of DEADLY REUNION

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Our second channel is here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!