Move To Los Angeles Or Live A Life Of Regret? by Gary W. Goldstein

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2017
Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Gary W. Goldstein: Before I moved to LA, I was an attorney in San Francisco. It was a very respected position. It was a beautiful city. I had a great life. I had a nice income. I was set and I was deeply comfortable. And it scared the hell out of me.

Had I stayed, I knew for certain (about me), not true of all lawyers, not true of all people, what have you. I knew for me, I was going to wither from the inside. But that was not the right life choice for me on a soul level, on a spirit level, not a role level or a goal level but on a soul level it was…I had to leave. I had to flee. I had to run away, literally.

Check out new Film Courage videos every day at 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time on Youtube!

And so I did. I ran away and I wasn’t sure exactly how it was going to work out but I thought, I’m going to go to the far end of the state to this crazy place called LA where I knew nobody and I was going to pursue getting into the film business because I so love storytelling. I’d grown up inside of books, I was a lover of story. And most of my friends and colleagues and certainly the other attorneys at the firm I worked at they all wagged their finger at me and said “How can you do that?” “That’s so brave.” “That’s so crazy.” Or something? “We don’t understand?”

And I said to them it’s not brave. It’s the opposite. It’s…it’s…it’s survival. That for me to survive and thrive, I can’t stay here. This is unsafe for me and it’s unsafe because it’s so comfortable. I need to go to this foreign land called Los Angeles. I need to go to a place where I am anonymous and know nobody. I need to stretch my limbs and I need to see if I can make it in this very highly-competitive unknown world of filmmaking. Because that lights me up, from the inside out.

I may fail. I may come crawling back on my knees begging you to take me back Oh Friends of San Francisco. But on the other hand if I don’t do it, I will never know and I’ll always regret it.

That’s one version of many, many, many stories I could tell about…and that’s just me. But I’ve seen it across most of the people…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Watch the full video interview here on Youtube

CHECK OUT GARY’S BOOK!

Writer’s Guide To Hollywood

CONNECT WITH GARY W. GOLDSTEIN

Garywgoldstein.com
IMDB
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube

Check out the 2017 Top 25 Most Viewed Video Interviews on Film Courage here
Check out the 2017 Top 25 Most Read Articles on Film Courage here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!