My Philosophy on Filmmaking is to Aim High, Because Then You Will at Least Get Further Than if You Didn’t Try at All by Co-Writer/Co-Director Andreas Climent of ORIGIN Movie

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2017
Andreas Climent — Co-Writer/Co-Director of ORIGIN Movie

(Watch read the full Q&A here on FilmCourage.com)

Film Courage: Where did you grow up?

Andreas Climent: I grew up in a little town called Oxie in the south of Sweden. My mom is Swedish and my dad was from Spain, so I was immersed in both cultures. My parents always encouraged my creativity, so I was writing and drawing a lot. I sort of grew up on American movies. That style of storytelling has influenced me a lot. Spielberg, and in recent years, Nolan and Fincher are big influences.

“…I decided to make my own film school. I found out which books were part of the curriculum at USC and borrowed as many as possible from the local library. Then I watched hundreds of hours of behind-the-scenes documentaries. Particularly all the behind-the-scenes material from Peter Jackson and Robert Rodriguez’s films were great.”

Andreas Climent — Co-Writer/Co-Director of ORIGIN Movie

Film Courage: How do you see yourself?

Andreas: When I was younger I never thought being a movie director was something you could do. Then I guess I figured, if someone else can, then I can also do it. My philosophy is to aim high, because then you will at least get a lot further than if you didn’t try at all.

Film Courage: How do you want others to see you as an artist?

Andreas: I try to make movies that will be enjoyed by a large audience. If my movies can also make you think about interesting concepts or grip you emotionally, then I have achieved what I’m aiming for. It’s a very hard thing to balance though and I really admire the few directors who do manage to make audience friendly movies based on complex ideas or concepts.

Film Courage: Did you go to film school?

Andreas: I got a partial scholarship to Vancouver Film School but still couldn’t go since it was too expensive. So I decided to make my own film school. I found out which books were part of the curriculum at USC and borrowed as many as possible from the local library. Then I watched hundreds of hours of behind-the-scenes documentaries. Particularly all the behind-the-scenes material from Peter Jackson and Robert Rodriguez’s films were great.

After that I started helping out on short films and after a while started making my own shorts, and that’s more or less how I learned filmmaking. Though to be honest, I’m still learning every day and hope to keep doing that for as long as I do this. I don’t think you can ever stop learning.

Film Courage: How many language do you speak?

Andreas: I’m fluent in English, Swedish and Spanish and I’m trying to learn German right now. My dad was Spanish, but I’ve learned both Spanish and English mostly from watching movies and TV-shows. Everyone watches subtitled American movies and TV shows in Sweden so after a while you just pick up the language.

Film Courage: Your bio says you travel for video client work — what are must haves you take everywhere?

Andreas: I’m a pretty minimalistic guy, but my Macbook Air is my number one must have. I’m always surprised how powerful such a lightweight computer is… (read more here).

(Watch read the full Q&A here on FilmCourage.com)

CONNECT WITH ORIGIN MOVIE:

iTunes Pre-Order Link for ORIGIN
Twitter for ORIGIN
Twitter for Andreas
Twitter for André
108 Media Film Page

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!