Nnamdi Asomugha — From Football Star To Acting Star

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2017
Watch the video on Youtube here

Nnamdi Asomugha — From Football Star To Acting Star –

– In CROWN HEIGHTS Movie this Friday!

Film Courage: Nnamdi, watching your retirement press conference from four years ago you said you had different options, but weren’t sure which path you wanted to take and you were patient.

When I watch CROWN HEIGHTS, I don’t see a football player acting, I don’t see someone acting, I see the real character. I didn’t know who Carl [King] was before watching the movie but I see someone…I am lost in that world. So can you talk about being patient and those four years and then how it has all come to where we are now? Because this is quite a role…

Nnamdi Asomugha: Sure. I don’t think that I am the fastest learner…(Watch the video on Youtube here).

CONNECT WITH NNAMDI ASOMUGHA
Asomughafoundation.org
Twitter
Instagram.com

Watch the video on Youtube here

How I Used Google To Break Into Hollywood by LaKeith Stanfield Film Courage: LaKeith, I understand you used Google searches to help you break into acting? LaKeith Stanfield: Yeah. I just got out of high school, trying to figure out what I wanted to do. Well…I kind of knew what I wanted to do. I knew I wanted to act in some capacity. So I started Googling acting schools, acting stuff, anything that encompassed acting, trying to find some channel in. So I just Googled everything and pages and pages of things popped up and I just filled everything out. Eventually people started answering. A lot of those were scams and things and I would ultimately end up wasting my time on going back and forth from Los Angeles to Victorville (CA), scrambling up change. One time there was a school for modeling…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

In the spring of 1980, a teenager is gunned down in the streets of Flatbush, Brooklyn. The police pressure a child witness to identify a suspect. As a result, Colin Warner, an 18-year-old kid from nearby Crown Heights, is wrongfully convicted of murder and sentenced to life in prison. Colin’s childhood friend Carl ‘KC’ King devotes his life to fighting for Colin’s freedom. He works on appeals, takes loans for lawyer fees and becomes a legal courier to learn the court system. This incredible true story is based on the acclaimed This American Life piece and adapted by writer/director Matt Ruskin, with Lakeith Stanfield playing Colin Warner and Nnamdi Asomugha as Carl King. In select theaters August 18.

CONNECT WITH CROWN HEIGHTS
Crownheightsthemovie.com
Twitter

WATCH MORE CROWN HEIGHTS INTERVIEWS
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-TefGb8jnE

CONNECT WITH LAKEITH STANFIELD
IMDB
Twitter

___________________________________________________________________

For more video interviews and articles, please visit the Film Courage Youtube channel and FilmCourage.com — New videos daily at 5:00 p.m. Pacific time!

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!