Pacing Your Story: What Writers Forget — John Bucher

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2024

--

Photo by Bob Osias on Unsplash

Film Courage: What is the concept of going in and going out?

John Bucher, Writer and Narrative Consultant: In many traditions throughout history we have seen the importance of breathing be central to life. I inhale, I exhale, this is how I sustain life. In the same way within a story we have going in and going out. We have inhales and we have exhales. So often when storytellers are trying to create a certain level of pacing within their story they don’t recognize the natural organic rhythms of inhales and exhales.

In the same way in my own life I need to be able to go inside and go internally into the deeper sides of myself but if I spend all my time there, if that’s all I do, I’ll lose my mind. Sometimes I need to go out. I need to go to a restaurant with my friends. We need to have some drinks and some laughs. We need to go to the sports game and have some fun. We need to go to the movies. We need to do things that don’t have anything to do with anything except experiencing life together.

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!