Reality Of Building A Filmmaking Career — Julian Shaw [FULL INTERVIEW]

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readMar 16, 2021

--

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: You began making movies at three years old?

Julian Shaw, Filmmaker/Actor: I would say three years old is when I first started making films. I had a VHS camcorder and I was so inspired by New Zealand’s Funniest Home Videos which was obviously the version of the Bob Saget’s America’s Funniest Home Videos.

I would actually write and perform sketches that we would submit to New Zealand’s Funniest Home Videos. It might be like it’s my birthday and I would end up falling into the birthday cake or we’d be playing cricket and I’d get hit with a tennis ball.

And I was operating the camera and my dad would be like Make sure you get this angle. And my sister and my mom would act in these things. So that was technically my first directing and acting.

Film Courage: What has been the longest time you’ve ever taken a break from filmmaking?

Julian: You know once I got going with it I just haven’t really stopped, it’s been pretty relentless. I got into it in my mid-teens pretty hardcore and I’ve been going ever since. I’ve had to re-evaluate where I am in my career and change parts, but I’ve never really stopped.

Film Courage: I read in your bio that you suffered from burnout at one point?

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!