Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
6 min readJan 26, 2016

--

The Challenge Was to Portray a Human at the Breaking Point by SENSORIA Movie’s Lanna Olsson

Film Courage: Where did you grow up?

Lanna Olsson : I grew up in the countryside in the Southern parts of Sweden with my mother and younger sister. I learned to enjoy nature early on.

Film Courage: Which of your parents do you resemble most?

Lanna: My father. He was a photographer and a musician, but passed away when I was young.

Film Courage: What were you like as a child?

Lanna: I’ve always had a vivid imagination and a love for telling stories and that hasn’t changed as I’ve grown older.

Film Courage: Did your family encourage you to go into acting?

Lanna: We used to play Theatre with dolls. Growing up my mother, sister and myself performed at the local library, so I suppose yes, she did encourage me.

“ I decided when I was 13 that I wanted to become an actress. I applied to the Theatre conservatory school thirteen times before getting accepted when I was 25. I’m very stubborn and competitive. I’d like to think that it’s payed off for me.” Actress Lanna Olsson

You can order SENSORIA on iTunes by visiting the link here.

Film Courage: Did you go to school for performing arts? Did you have other plans after high school and did you stay with them?

Lanna: I decided when I was 13 that I wanted to become an actress. I applied to the Theatre conservatory school thirteen times before getting accepted when I was 25. I’m very stubborn and competitive. I’d like to think that it’s payed off for me.

Film Courage: First female or male film or television character that made you fall in love with acting?

Lanna: Pippi Longstockings (of Astrid Lindgren fame), the girl who plays Pippi was my violin teacher which was awesome for obvious reasons.

Film Courage: How did you find out about the audition for SENSORIA?

Lanna: A friend of mine, Andreas, told me writer/director Christian Hallman was looking for a lead actress.

Writer/Director Chris Hallman, going through a scene with Linnea Pihl — SENSORIA Movie

Film Courage: Can you recall the audition?

Lanna: I met Norah and Christian in Malmö. We sat in a sofa and Norah and I did the scene where she finds the engagement ring, and I felt the connection instantly.

Film Courage: Who is your character Caroline?

Lanna: A middle aged woman who has lost Everything she cares about. She has been forced to begin anew. She’s trying to be positive in the face of hardship. I’ve searched deep within to find similarities between Caroline and myself.

Film Courage: What attracted to the role? How much direction did you receive from the director?

Lanna: The challenge was to portray a human at the breaking point. Writer/Director Christian Hallman was present and guided me throughout the process, but it was never heavy handed. We got very close during the work.

Actress Lanna Ohlsson as Caroline Menard in SENSORIA

Film Courage: Do you prepare a back story on your characters as you become them?

Lanna: Yes, I do.

Film Courage: Did you read other parts of the script beforehand or just your part to prepare?

Lanna: I read the entire script many times and I fell in love with it, it really grew on me each time I read it.

Film Courage: Do you like to know lots about the story and the other characters parts, or just your part to keep the character true?

Lanna: I focus on Caroline to build a Deep Connection with her.

“To play Caroline (in SENSORIA) I needed to find a numbness, a deadness of expression. I have studied apathetic people extensively for this role to portray her in the way I wanted.” Actress Lanna Olsson

Film Courage: How much freedom did writer/director Christian Hallman allow for improvisation with Caroline?

Lanna: My thoughts were allowed to wander freely but the scenery was created by Christian.

Film Courage: Most difficult scene for you in SENSORIA?

Lanna: The bathtub scene where Caroline has her miscarriage nightmare.

Film Courage: How much do you observe real-life non-verbal communication and implement it in to your characters? How you decipher how that character moves, twitches, uses her hands, etc.?

Lanna: To play Caroline I needed to find a numbness, a deadness of expression. I have studied apathetic people extensively for this role to portray her in the way I wanted.

On January 22nd, 2016 SENSORIA is on VOD
in North America!

Film Courage: Do you continue to take acting classes?

Lanna: Yes I do and I will in a way for the rest of my Life.

Film Courage: In between productions, what other things do you partake in to hone your acting skills?

Lanna: I teach acting and I feel like my imagination is present in Everything I do. Everything you do in Life contributes to how you are as actress.

Film Courage: Most memorable quote from an acting teacher?

Lanna: “The worst one is the best one. The one who learns the most.”

Film Courage: What is kryptonite for an actor? What is an actor’s most powerful asset?

Lanna: The routine. When your mind doesn’t get going. Imagination is by far the best asset.

Film Courage: Does Sweden have the same fascination for actors, tabloids, and the ups and downs of their personal lives as it is here in the US?

Lanna: Absolutely! I think that’s part of the human condition.

Film Courage: What’s next for you creatively?

Lanna: I’m the lead roll in a new Swedish horror Movie called In-Between. I play Lisa. It premiers in 2017.

BIO:

Lanna Olsson is a 38-year-old Swedish actress. She was born in Malmo and was accepted at Stockholm’s Dramatic School of Acting in 2002. She’s been featured in many theatre plays (mostly at Dramaten, the Royal Dramatic Theatre in Stockholm), among them: Chrisitan Tomners critically acclaimed version of “The House of Bernarda Alba” by Lorca, Kia Berglund’s version of “Long Day’s Journey into Night” at Uppsala Municipal Theatre/Theatre Giljotin and recently in the acclaimed play by Arne Lygré “Jag försvinner” directed by Carl Dunér. On the big screen Lanna has been seen in Hannes Holm’s “Himlen så Oskyldigt Blå”, she got an award for Best Actress for her performance in the short film “Måndag midnatt” directed by Martin Hellborgson. Sensoria is Lannas first feature film in a leading role.

CONNECT WITH SENSORIA MOVIE:

iTunes
Facebook
IMDB
Twitter

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!