The One Scene A Writer Should Never Delete — Andy Guerdat

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Film Courage: Can we talk about that little spark of an idea you had in your hometown in Alabama before you came to Los Angeles? What was that like?

Andy Guerdat, Television Writer, Producer, Instructor, and Podcaster: It’s the feeling that every writer should have when they think of an idea. In my case I think back on it now and I don’t know why it came to me, why I felt like it was, why it got me jazzed but for some reason I had an image in my head when I was very young and I was loving movies but I wasn’t quite sure how to if I had a place in the movie and television industry but I had an it just occurred to me wouldn’t it be cool if there was this married couple (upscale, married couple) in a beautiful home, they’re both attractive, well-dressed. The husband is dressed for work, goes out the front door, kisses his wife goodbye, the door closes behind him and we hear the voice over of a police detective saying When was the last time you saw your husband, McCoughlin? That was it, that’s all. I was like that seems really cool. I would want to watch that movie. Why would a guy with a…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!