The Werking Writer: Get In Flow With Your Writing — Charla Lauriston [FULL INTERVIEW]

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Photo by Maksym Tymchyk 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

Film Courage: Charla, there are four books that you believe every screenwriter should read. The first one being John Truby’s The Anatomy of Story. Why this book?

Charla Lauriston, Screenwriter/Owner of The Working Writer/Comedian: I think that new screenwriters struggle with structure. I think that new screenwriters before they get comfortable with story don’t recognize how innate story is. Even if you’re a terrible storyteller, like I’m a terrible storyteller, in a bar if I’m telling a story, I’ll start with the middle, I’ll jump to the end, all have to retract to the beginning, I’m a terrible storyteller in the moment, but the story itself is there and the joy that you get even in a bar when you’re talking to your friends and telling them a story and you are able to build it up in a way that has people hanging on your every word so that they can hear the end of how this story goes or the punch line of a joke, it’s like the punch line of a joke/the end of the story. I feel like John Truby’s Anatomy of Story breaks down story in a way that…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!