This Revelation Changed My Creative Life — John Vorhaus

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2023

--

I had a very clear moment of revelation where I learned the difference between fearing I’m not worthy and knowing I’m not worthy. In that moment my life changed.

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Author/Speaker/Artist/Screenwriter John Vorhaus: Let’s just imagine that you said those words to me when I was 25 years old Oh, you’re so funny! I would have had a couple of problems with it. One is I’d have trouble fitting it into my paradigm because I don’t think of myself as funny. I mean, I do think of myself as funny, but not just funny, so I might feel like I’m achieving a low target but that’s not my big problem. My big problem is I have to fit your approval into my mindset. You just told me I’m funny and now you’re demanding that I feel how I feel about what you just told me because I’m creative and I’m insecure and I’m 25. I have a lot of trouble owning your validation. I have a lot of trouble feeling good about the approval you just gave me. I carry in my mind a construct that says I’m not worthy and because I’m not worthy I have trouble accepting praise and also because I’m not worthy I have trouble operating effectively in creative spaces. For myself as a practitioner, I had a very clear moment of revelation where I learned the difference between fearing I’m not worthy and…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!