What Successful Artists Do To Beat Self-Doubt — Larry Hankin

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2021

--

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: If you were going to give a screenwriter a pep talk, let’s say they were attending Story Expo and maybe they were nervous (we’ve heard from of people that they were nervous), what would that pep talk be?

Larry Hankin, Writer/Comedian/Actor: Don’t be nervous. First of all it doesn’t serve anything…well…maybe it does? It helps you prepare…Ooh I’m nervous. I’d better prepare. So you’re prepared but you can prepare without being nervous. Nervous has nothing to do with it. But I find that I have always been right artistically, maybe not among other people, but artistically I’ve always been right. Maybe I didn’t have enough chops, so keep writing or keep drawing (I paint also). But keep doing it and always try to do better and always try to do your best, but don’t listen to other people. Well, I guess you can listen but you don’t have to do what they say…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

BIO:

Born in New York in 1940, Larry Hankin took an industrial design degree from the University of Syracuse; multifaceted artist, in addition to being an actor, Hankin is also a screenwriter, producer, director and…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!