What’s The Difference Between Movie Critics And Internet Trolls? — Scott Menzel

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2022

--

Film Courage: Scott what’s the difference between critique versus trolling?

Scott Menzel, Film Critic, Writer, Hollywood Critics Association Founder: Nowadays who knows? I feel like some critics are almost trolls at this point because once they get their mind made up about things, they seem like they can’t understand or respect someone else’s. I feel like social media is the blame for that because everyone has become an expert. I think I’m probably one of part of the last generation where I went to school for film criticism and I studied film, I grew up watching film and I didn’t just wake up one morning and say Tomorrow I’m going to start a blog and I’m going to write about movies and then everyone’s going to accept me as a critic. I went to school for it whether it was Chapman University or Kutztown University [of Pennsylvania] where I got my master’s and I studied film, I studied film production, I studied film criticism, I spent years watching movies, reading books about it. In the last 15 years that almost kind of went out the window because…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!