Why Every Writer Should Use Writing Prompts — Jonathan Blum

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2023

--

Write something from the point of view of an unreliable narrator.

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: How important are prompts in a writer’s box of tools?

Author/Instructor, Jonathan Blum: I think they are really important. I am a big believer in writing from prompts. One nice story about prompts when I was a student is I had a teacher who gave me a prompt which was write something from the point of view of an unreliable narrator. I ended up developing my answer to that prompt into a story and it ended up being my very first published story. Prompts can lead to stories that are fully realized works that come from prompts. That’s one thing I like about them.

In terms of giving my students prompts which I do every week, I like to give open-ended prompts in which the…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!