Why Screenwriters Need To Know Math — Logan Burdick

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readDec 26, 2021

--

Film Courage: What’s your outlining process?

Logan Burdick: Filmmaker/Writer: I will outline to 90 percent of the way there. I will outline as much as I feel I can before I actually start writing. I find it personally very difficult to do it any other way. I do think there is a lot of value in exploring and having that creativity but to me a lot of that is the outlining and I think also the reality is even if you outline something 99 percent of the way done, when you actually write it that won’t be what it’ll be anyway. It’s a road map that will change it. It is at least the way I do it I think. That also in addition to that it’s really important to know as much as you can about the characters and the themes and the ideas that you want to explore before again before I start writing writing. I do a lot of exploring of these things in a much more nebulous way trying to think of what else. It doesn’t really matter to me if the outline’s in order. I’ll just outline the chunks of it that I understand personally. Again, this is the hard thing about this because I do think everyone is different. To me…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!