Why The Acting Audition Is The Job — Michael Laskin

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Michael Laskin, Actor, Acting Coach, Author: The audition is the job, that is the job.

Film Courage: Let’s say you get a call right now from your agent and you have a big audition tomorrow, what’s the call like, what happens?

Michael: First of all, I don’t get a call, I get an email.

Film Courage So it’s not, ring ring?

Michael: No, there’s none of that anymore, it’s all impersonal I’m afraid. Interesting because now you have to self-tape everything so it’s not like Oh I have this audition I’m going to go to Warner Brothers at four o’clock to this building, to this room. That doesn’t happen anymore. I don’t know if that’ll ever happen again. I don’t know if everyone’s like this, I go Do I want to do this? This is something everybody may want to do because I don’t care anymore and I’m in a different place in my life. If I don’t want to do it or if it doesn’t feel right, I’m going to pass on that and they seem to be okay with that. But the first thing I do is that I freak out a little bit because I know there’s a…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!