Eric’s Hitchcock Halloween — The Birds

Eric B. Jones
Film Cut
Published in
3 min readNov 18, 2022

--

With this being the season of scares, I decided to focus on the work of my favorite director, Alfred Hitchcock. I will provide some of my readings on three films of the Master of Suspense that I feel are the best result for Halloween.

Poster: Universal Pictures

“I want to go through life jumping into fountains naked.”

This is a line that represents the spirit of the character of Melanie Daniels and what she means to the nature of Lydia Brennan.

Photo: Universal Pictures

The Birds is Alfred Hitchcock’s The Shining. Much like Kubrick’s film, it’s a horror film that presents. You’re shown what is on screen, given clues that don’t mean anything, and you are left to conclude and ask your questions.

Photo: Universal Pictures

I’ve seen The Birds as a story of society's oppression and standards on people who have their spirits. At the beginning of the film, we meet Melanie and Mitch. They hit it off almost instantly despite some initial contention. Melanie is a socialite and a bit of a free-spirited free-spirited one. Mitch is a lawyer from a small town…

--

--

Eric B. Jones
Film Cut

Fan of the movies. Writing to show my perspective on the artform I grew up loving.