Wrap-Up 2022: Eric’s Top Films of the Year

2022 offered a variety of good films. What were my favorites?

Eric B. Jones
Film Cut

--

Image: Dreamstime

Before I begin my 2023 cinematic journey, I look back on 2022. So many different experiences were had. Flying high with an old pilot once again, watching a young woman battle an otherworldly adversary or a young vigilante making his mark. What films meant the most to me over the past year?

First, the honorable mentions.

The Northman:

Poster: Focus Features

An epic journey of revenge in the mold of 1982’s Conan the Barbarian. It’s fierce. There is an arthouse aura to The Northman, but it is combines with a blockbuster's thrills. This film manages a delicate balance between its visceral savagery and the philosophical ideas that it presents.

The Banshees of Inisherin:

Poster: Searchlight Pictures

This film had me reflect upon my own life. What happens when a longtime friend decides to be your friend no longer? The Banshees of Inisherin

--

--

Eric B. Jones
Film Cut

Fan of the movies. Writing to show my perspective on the artform I grew up loving.