Beating the Overdog

JHurls
film | movies | stories
1 min readJun 26, 2015

Voting ends Sunday, but there’s still a chance I can make a comeback and win this thing. I’m from Buffalo, comebacks are what we do, right? The guy in the lead, he’s got better equipment, a bigger network, not to mention that he’s been doing this for a long time. He’s sponsored by one of the festival’s sponsors — I don’t know how that’s not a conflict of interest, but apparently it’s not. “Stay focused. You can do this.” Friends of friends. Share your link incessantly. You made it to the finals, don’t quit now. How do you get more people than you know to click a “Like” button? Anyway, what do I really get if I win? Better gear so I’m not the underdog anymore? Sure, but really I get the satisfaction of knowing it’s possible to actually win. Work hard. Do good work. Stay positive. Win. That will feel good.

So I made this short film called “Hobby Horse” for the Original iPhone Film Festival. Voting ends Sunday, and I’m in second place. I’m the underdog, but I’ve got a shot. My film is a comedy about the pursuit of a satisfying hobby, because I don’t know what to do with myself on weekends and in my spare time. I makes movies; that’s one incredibly satisfying venture. You can watch my film below, and you can vote for it here by clicking the “Like” button under the video: http://iphonefilmmaker.com/our-videos/hobby-horse-fiction/

--

--

JHurls
film | movies | stories

I wrote a hit movie and directed it, so I'm not sweating it either.