30 in 30: A MONTH OF HORROR

Fede Mayorca
Filmarket Hub
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2018

DAY 0 — Intro.

Horror is an undeniable part of the movie business. It has been with it since the start. Many argue is the only movie genre that has always been active and profitable since the beginning of film.

Don’t you find this strange? Why do we like to get scared? It looks like there might be something inside of us that longs for a thrill, a kick, a shock to the nervous system.

But is it just that? Are horror movie goers only adrenaline junkies? I don’t think so. I feel like horror movies are a window to a strange dimension. A portal to a forbidden realm that can only be accessed through the magic of moving pictures.

I can not speak for all the people who watch and enjoy horror films, but I can speak for myself when I say there is a lot more to horror than just cheap thrills. There is a communion with the unknown, a pact made in the darkness between me and the story I’m about to see.

For the next 30 days, we’ll be exploring horror movies and dissecting them to see what makes them tick and tock. We’ll be watching a film a day until Halloween.

Do you want to be a part of this ride? Jump in and accept what’s coming your way.

Be afraid, be very afraid.

Tomorrow we’ll discuss: THE THING (1982)

--

--