“Antidote” creator Amy Ginsburg Harvey talks to us about her post-apocalyptic TV series in development

Alex Barraquer
Filmarket Hub
Published in
7 min readOct 29, 2018

A London TV Pitchbox Special Mention

Our next interview from London TV Pitchbox’s Special Mentions is Amy Ginsburg Harvey’s “Antidote”, a post-apocalyptic sci-fi story about Bella, a survivor of a pandemic, and her twin brothers along with other survivors they find in their way, who’ll have to learn to build a new life.

FMH: Tell us a little bit about yourself, why did you decide to become a filmmaker? Where did you study? How did you start your career in film?

A.G.H: First and foremost I am an actress. I got bored of waiting to be cast and staring at my phone for ‘the call’ from my agent so took matters into my own hands and made my own show so I didn’t have to wait around on anyone else’s ‘yes’.

I studied Theatre at Lancaster University and then got a scholarship to TVI Acting Conservatory Los Angeles where I studied acting for Film and Screen for a year.

FMH: Do you have any other work in film, TV or advertisement? Can you show us/ tell us about your most noted work up until now?

A.G.H: I’ve been in shows such as Hollyoaks, The Forsythe Saga, Island at War and will be in ITV’s new show Deep Water. You might’ve heard of them; then I have also been doing some work on the indie film scene and shot a film called The Mad Whale starring James Franco, where I played a female boxer. Other indie projects include films Trust, Prey, Hope, and Sci’Fi A night at club zeno’s.

FMH: I read the dossier and the pilot for “ANTIDOTE” and I loved the whole concept from the start. Writing a TV show that talks about issues such as a pandemic, having to survive in a sort of post-apocalyptic world, organ-harvesters…it reminded me a bit of the very hard “The Road”, though in another tone…what moved you to write about this themes in particular? I found there’s always something a bit morbid about imagining possible futures where humanity is doomed…was it a way of reflecting on what could happen if we keep, playing with fire, in other words, neglecting our planet?

A.G.H: You’ve really hit all nails on the head here! The Road is one of the inspirations for the series (I LOVED Viggo Mortenson in this and the whole aesthetic!) but it wasn’t watching this or anything else apocalyptic inspired that gave me the idea. The idea came organically when I thought of Bella and her two brothers running through a field away from something. That’s all I had originally and then I started to ask myself the questions: ‘who are they running from’ and ‘why’…and that’s how I started ANTIDOTE!

I’ve always been into heavy drama and as an actress I prefer to act these types of roles as I just get so much out of them and love delving really deep into intricate, complicated characters, so I knew the series was always going to be something heavy going as I guess, selfishly, this is what I like and what comes naturally to me to write.

Another major inspiration for me which you won’t see in the writing but can link quite nicely to your comment about us as humanity playing with fire, is the series Black Mirror. I love that it stretches your imagination, but only slightly, as we can all imagine these things happening in X many years’ time and it terrifies us. ANTIDOTE is set in a similar vein, as realistic as possible, a stretch for the imagination but also a wake-up call that this could very well happen if we all don’t start being slightly nicer to each other. I don’t find the topic morbid (I guess because my character is a survivor) I find it an opportunity for brilliant performance and writing to be displayed, because the topic matter stretches us all to our limits which is where I find true moments of creative genius can happen.

FMH: What is your ultimate goal with the creation of “ANTIDOTE”? In the sense of, what concept would you like audiences to stay with when they’d watch it?

A.G.H: How realistic it is and therefore terrifying that this is something that could really happen. I want them to be at the edge of their seats waiting to see what happens in the next episode as they fall in love with the characters and relationships that they build.

FMH: How long have you been working on this project?

A.G.H: Two Years.

FMH: At what stage are you with it at this moment? What do you need / are you looking for to further develop it?

A.G.H: Funding, a production company, director, cast and crew …everything!

FMH: Do you have anybody specific in mind that you would like to be a part of your project (actor, actress, d.o.p, producer…)?

A.G.H: Oh I have plenty! Who doesn’t want Spielberg? At this time, I want dedicated professionals who are as excited and passionate as I am about the project and who aren’t afraid of hard work. I want the whole cast and crew to be totally on board and collaborate together, that’s one thing that we really nailed when shooting the short film, our team was a dream and that’s something I want going forward.

FMH: What do you think stands out most in “ANTIDOTE”?

A.G.H: Aside from the plot twists and turns, I’d say, the unique relationships and diversity it offers. You see real meaningful relationships form throughout the series between unexpected people and I think it really asks the questions of ‘does the world really have to end for us all to come together?’ The characters are from different ethnicities, backgrounds, religions, cultures and physical and mental states, yet they are all fighting for one thing… to survive. It shows how none of this really matters as we’re all human on the inside, the exterior is just armour.

FMH: Had you shopped it around before uploading it to Filmarket Hub? How did it go?

A.G.H: It has done well on the film festival circuit and we have had some great feedback from people in the industry but the Filmarket Hub is our first major step and we’re so honoured to have been picked as a special mention.

FMH: What made you apply to London TV Pitchbox?

A.G.H: I saw It advertised on Facebook and realized that my project ticked all the boxes. As an actress I didn’t have much experience on this side of the industry, and honestly was a bit lost at where to go and how to get a project picked up when you don’t have funding or contacts, then this popped up on my timeline and voilà!

FMH: Do you think, as a director/screenwriter, is it important to be involved in all parts of the process of making a TV Show, not just writing it, but marketing it etc.?

A.G.H: YES 100%. No one knows your project the way you do so you need to bring that fire to every area of It. I’m not saying it’s all on you all the time but your input is definitely essential in all areas.

FMH: At Filmarket Hub we tend to have a hard time finding projects led by women. In your experience, what’s it been like working in the film industry? Who are some of your role models?

A.G.H: So far I’ve had a great experience and I find that sometimes being a woman has actually helped. To look at I look much younger than I am, I am very bubbly and can come across ‘young and naïve’ as I am a fun loving happy go lucky kind of person. However, I’ve found that once I get into conversation with people, they can be taken back a little at my fire as passion from such a ‘sweet’ seeming person. I try to be firm and clear on my boundaries from the outset, while being nice and respectful at the same time, and for now it seems no one has given me much trouble in that sense.

I work with people who are positive but realistic about things, I don’t want or need anything sugar coated, but I also like to find a solution and deal with things positively rather than dwell on anything negative. I’m very honest and upfront and love when people also call me out on mistakes as well, so I can learn and get better at what I do too, whether that’s from a man or a woman I couldn’t care less, as long as the point is valid. It’s early days for me but so far being a woman in this industry is treating me well.

One of my role models is Sally Wainwright. She’s from not far away from me and also where my Grandparents lived and has achieved so much.

FMH: We want to get to know you better, so here’s a mini questionnaire:

Favorite screenwriters:

A.G.H: While she doesn’t write anymore, Shonda Rhimes and everything she does is absolutely my favorite thing ever! She’s a huge, huge inspiration to me. So I guess everyone who’s writing for her are my favourites.

Favorite directors:

  • Steven Spielberg
  • Christopher Nolan

Favorite movies:

  • A Beautiful Mind
  • Red Sparrow
  • Pearl Harbour

--

--

Alex Barraquer
Filmarket Hub

CRM Manager at Filmarket Hub and occasional blogger on all film production, film financing and film distribution.