Call Me By Your Name, a beautiful love story

Mame Balde
FilmClub
4 min readMar 19, 2018

--

CALL ME BY YOUR NAME -2017- Dir. Luca Guadagnino//Starring: Armie Hammer, Timothée Chalamet, Michael Stuhlbarg, Amira Casar, Esther Garrel //Produced by Sony Pictures Classics

The film in four words: A beautiful love story. Call me by your Name tells the tale of 17-year-old Elio Perlman’s, romantic relationship with Oliver, a graduate student who his family decides to host for the summer. Elio is an introverted teen, who spends his summer days transcribing music and reading books. Oliver is an outgoing 24-year-old who joins Elio’s family for the summer to work under Mr. Perlman, a professor in archaeology. The film is set “Somewhere in Northern Italy” which in reality is Crema, a small city home to a little over 34,000 people. The exceptional architectural landscape of Crema allowed for more intriguing shots to be captured when I got the chance to follow Elio and Oliver as they cycled throughout the city. The bright and luminescent colors of their scenery; whether it is in fields of luscious grass or Elio’s bedroom made me want to buy a one-way ticket to Crema and never come back; It was just that captivating. Additionally, the camerawork, in general, was superb. A particular scene that resonated with me was when Elio lounges with his family members and camera enter the room. The camera work is not choppy or curt, it flutters in slowly and steadily allowing me to spy on a conventional family evening without disturbing their peacefulness. The music flows hand in hand with this magnificent camerawork. The soundtrack speaks volumes in order to heighten the tension of Elio and Oliver’s desires for one another but their inability to freely communicate their wants. The second Elio and Oliver are close the music abruptly cuts off; although, it drove me nuts it flowed perfectly. Sufjan Stevens soothing voices foreshadows the plot, so even when nothing is happening the music causes a melancholy feeling to resonate in my stomach. The chemistry between all the characters is realistic and tender. Although, I thought Michael Stuhlberg who plays Mr. Perlman could be excessively cheesy at times; it did balance out well with the plot and made him more lovable. Amira Casar should not be overlooked for her role as Mrs.Perlman; this role albeit small was impactful. As for Armie Hammer, I don’t really know what to say; he was able to show himself as this quirky american dude, but I’m not sure if it had due with his acting or personality. The biggest star of the film was Timothée Chalamet. He takes this role with unexpected but realistic actions that makes the film refreshing. I was not expecting such a stellar performance from such a young actor. Chalamet makes little movements that provide such an echo. The way he cries along to Visions of Gideon by Stevens in the ending credits and stares directly into my soul (the camera) gave me chills down my spine and made me cry at the utter turmoil young love brings. This scene seems to stick with most people, along with and the amazing speech Mr. Perlman played by Michael Stuhlberg gives at the end. Both scenes stuck with me as well but I enjoyed moments when Elio is having breakfast with his family and says snarky comments or does awkward gestures to show his pent-up teen angst and immaturity at times. This reminded me, although Elio lives in this gorgeous town in Italy, he is just like every other teen in the world. He is insecure about himself, whether it is because of his Jewish identity, sexuality or simply his coming of age-hood.

Luca Guadagnino knows how to direct; he was able to bring 1980s Italy into my life and made it so hard for me to leave it all behind. The chemistry between everyone both on and offset make the film all more worthwhile. I’ve watched the film numerous times and loved it more each time I went.

Call me by your Name is not just a gay film. It is a disgrace to the amount of talent, artistic intelligence, and hard work that went into the making of the film to categorize it into one box. This film is a beautifully crafted love story, that should be shared with everyone. Very few times has such an immaculate film been created that showcases young love (between LGBTQ characters in general) and coming of age without all the over the top cliches. This is what a good film looks like. Call me by your Name is a film that despite the emotional rollercoaster it put you on, you will not forget. Do not forget it.

--

--