Two Jordan Peele Movies to Watch on Halloween and Beyond (Or, Thank God for Jordan Peele)

Nancy O. Greene
FilmCritique
Published in
3 min readOct 31, 2022

--

Happy Halloween!

NOPE, of course, is one of Peele’s newest popular movies, and for good reason. Not only is it innovative and logical in the realm of alien lifeforms - just look around, especially in the ocean - it’s packed full of action and heart. The film is also a visual masterpiece, with a copious amount of homage, references and history.

This might be my own interpretation, but seeing what a nightmare the creature is, the spewing of a waterfall of blood seems to harken back to NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET. And the visuals of the house at night distinctly remind me of 70s horror poster artwork and THE AMITYVILLE HORROR house.

I also found myself saying more than once, “Thank God for Jordan Peele!” What initially prompted this was the slap-hands scene between KeKe Palmer (Emerald) nd Daniel Kaluuya (OJ). Earlier in the week, I did that exact same movement with someone else Black, and it was such a joyous shock to see that in one of my favorite genres. A movement so tangibly relatable that I had never witnessed before in quite that way, in one of my favorite genres no less. (And honorable mention shout-out to the woman being unreasonably scared that his name was OJ. Because... side-eye. "We be knowing.")

--

--