When My Mother comes to Tea.

A poem by Ellie Hersey

El Hersey
Filmmaker Dream Studios
2 min readOct 4, 2021

--

I question my life over;

When my Mother comes to Tea.

She’s charming and I’m disarmed;

And stop questioning how she hurt me.

I have this anger while she’s away,

About all the abuse I faced

But when she’s here

It all disappears

And I feel myself led astray.

To the thoughts of guilt and sorrow

That I left her all alone

In the house to take care of herself

When I went to another zone.

I have nightmares

So many nightmares;

About telling her that she’s not right,

For knocking her child into a draw,

And scaring her for life.

But when my Mother comes to Tea,

She’s all smiles and politeness

Towards me,

That I feel wrong

To tell her how much damage she’s done

And my anger is long gone.

“It would be like getting angry at a different person”

I tell myself

As my Mother sips her Tea

I would have no evidence to back myself up

And then she would be angry at me.

I moved out for a reason

But that reason melts away

With the hot tea and raspberry jam

All sitting nicely on the tray.

How do I live like this?

How did I live with her so long?

My thoughts such as these can go on forever and ever,

I wish she was just gone.

--

--