App Assignment

Julian Nelson
FinalProjectJulian
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2018

For this assignment, we had to design our own software application and create mock up examples of how we would want it to look. Litify is a party app that allows you to locate parties in your area. Not only does it locate parties, but you can also buy your party tickets online, arrange transportation, and talk to people who are going to the party! The following pictures are all of my mock up designs starting with the login page. After you have signed in, you are led to the homepage. You are provided with many options and it even welcomes you at the top of the screen! Contact information and social media are down below. For the third design, we are still at the home page but one of the menus are expanded. Previous parties are showing the users previous parties that she attended and the date she attended. The last picture, even though not a mock up, is an example of a user story, It includes the users pictures, name, a simple biography, their goals and frustrations, and the parties they have attended. The writing at the bottom of the page is my case study.

The Overview

For this assignment, I was dedicated to create a party app, to allow people to go to parties, but were able to purchase tickets online, look at their previous parties, arrange transportation, and talk to friends they met at the party. The main challenge I faced, was finding the right color for the background of my two mock up designs and the write font size to use for my text. In the end, I feel I chose a nice color that was able to show my text clearly and portray my images in a lovely manner.

The Context and Challenge

When coming up with this idea, I made sure to consult with a couple of my colleagues. They had all stated that previous party apps were full of information and not as free flowing. They had also mentioned that it didn’t provide them with much, only the banner for each party. From there, I came up with the idea to include transportation options and even messaging options to talk to people. The easiest challenge that I faced and which everyone faces is making the application as simple and user friendly as possible and also not too complex.

The Process and Insight

I had conducted a thorough research, to find out the best layout possible for this app. In the end, the layout I created was the best one possible, easily accessible, user accessible and everything was out in the open. My theme was kind of emoji based, I made sure to use emoticons for all my titles. I basically used the same thing for my user personas, but instead of emoticons, pictures would have been included.

The Solution

I was able to create a balance between the amount of pictures I used versus the amount of text portrayed in my layouts. Of course the user personas are more text based, but still pictures were still able to be added into the mix.

The Results

In the end, I was able to create a an app that’s user friendly and simply and easy to use

--

--

Julian Nelson
FinalProjectJulian
0 Followers
Editor for

My name Is Julian Nelson and this publication is a professional portfolio for my class, E-Portfolio I. If needed, contact me at: juliannelsonja@gmail.com