Why NPS doesn’t make sense!

If you can control your emotions, NPS ain't for you.

Mayank Jaiswal
Finance in 21st Century
2 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

It’s March and it’s the time you think about your investments and Tax Savings the most. I came to know about NPS i.e. National Pension Scheme. In NPS, you can save tax up to 50,000 per year. This tax-saving attracts investors to put money in NPS.

On average, NPS compounds at a rate of 9%. You may argue it's 10% but fundamental maths remains the same.

I have done my maths and decided that I am better off — NOT putting my money in NPS. I will invest that money in Equity where I expect to get a 12% CAGR in the long run.

In NPS, 50k if compounds at a rate of 9% for 13 years.

  • 50k *1.09¹³ =~ 153.2k = Approx 153k

In Equity, 15k will go away as tax, and the remaining 35k can compound at a rate of 12% for 13 years

  • 35k *1.12¹³ = 152. 7k = = Approx 153k
I have drawn this graph on Google

Search query for google: “50 * 1.09^x,35 * 1.12^x”

As you can see, in 13 years, the compounded amount will be the same in NPS and in Equity. After 13 years, I can continue compounding at 12% if I am in equity and will be stuck with 9% if I am invested in NPS.

Hence, my conclusion is to stay away from NPS and invest on your own in equity.

Over a long time, simply put, higher compounding rate instrument wins! Hence, Stocks > MF > NPS

Also, NPS doesn't return you all of your money on retirement. It gives 40% to Insurance companies and then it is given to you in terms of pension.

If you are financially literate and know how to manage money, don’t invest in NPS

Bibliography:

--

--

Mayank Jaiswal
Finance in 21st Century

Software Engineer. Studied Computer Science from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. Work Interests - Search. None Work Interest - Personal Finance.