How I Finally Started to Make Money as a Blogger

Walter Guevara
Financial Independence / Retire Early
6 min readNov 10, 2021

--

Over 7 years ago I started work on a technology blog for no other reason than to compete with a friend who had at the time done the same. So when I got home that day from work I finally started the journey and wrote my first article and hit the publish button.

While I didn’t break the internet with that 500 word piece, it did get the ball rolling for me and cemented the fact that it wasn’t impossible for me to run my own blog.

Roughly a year later though I had reached the milestone of 100 articles. But I still wasn’t making enough revenue to quit my full-time job yet. In fact, I wasn’t making any revenue at all, despite having ads running on every single page day and night.

A few more years later (and a few hundred more articles later), I had yet to crack the code to financial freedom and was still running the blog at a loss, as many bloggers will do early on due to hosting costs.

Last year I decided to finally do something about my struggling blog, because it was actually doing well from a monthly pageview perspective. Tens of thousands of people visited my blog every single month. But from a financial perspective, it was still not making a dent.

So I started to just focus on the financial aspect of blog ownership and that aspect alone. And then all of a…

--

--

Walter Guevara
Financial Independence / Retire Early

Startup CTO. Sr. Programmer. Blogger. Los Angeles native. Future sci-fi author.