I Would’ve Been A Millionaire By 40 — But I Committed Financial Suicide Instead

Why Pursuing Happiness In The Now Is Worth It

Spenser Warren
Financial Independence / Retire Early
6 min readDec 24, 2021

--

Person holding lots of money in front of their face.
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

If you could be a millionaire in less than 15 years by staying on your current path, would you do it?

Even if the path caused you to be overworked, stressed, burnt-out, creatively bankrupt, and questioning what you were doing with your life? That’s the exact path I was on a few years ago when I read the excellent personal finance book, The Latte Factor.

Set in New York City, The Latte Factor tells the story of a young magazine editor named Zoey.

Zoey struggles with many of the same things we all do on our journeys to financial independence: student loan debt, a salary that is unlivable in a high cost-of-living area, credit card debt, and mounting expenses. It’s only when Zoey meets an elderly barista named Henry that she discovers three critical lessons of personal finance: paying yourself first, making investing automatic, and living rich now.

It’s that latter lesson that finally caused me to pull the trigger on a decision that could derail my financial future entirely and set my early retirement back by several years.

But before I get to that, I’ll share exactly how I knew I was on this millionaire path…

--

--

Spenser Warren
Financial Independence / Retire Early

Career Empowerment Coach | Helping corporate leaders escape burnout to create career success on their own terms | 10 year HR Pro | Career Changer | Author