As a Freelance Writer, You’re Exposed to Competitors from Around the Globe

Here Is a (Mostly) Untapped Market for Freelance Writers

Going local is a powerful strategy that insulates you from most competitors; here’s how I did it

Financial Strategy
Published in
5 min readNov 4, 2018

--

Open notebook with pen in front of laptop.

It would turn out to be the worst year since I started my business. The federal “sequester” had slowed down the pace of NASA projects I’d been supporting, dropping my income by 80% for almost a year.

This, right when we had just closed on an office condo and I needed to pay a general contractor to turn it from a shell into usable office space.

I had to find something productive to do, fast, to bring in desperately needed income, and to help maintain my sanity.

Not knowing better options, I became a freelance writer on Elance. I’d always been good at both verbal and written communication.

Over 20 years in academia, writing an endless flow of papers, proposals, technical notes…

--

--

Opher Ganel
Financial Strategy

Consultant | systems engineer | physicist | writer | avid reader | amateur photographer. I write about personal finance from an often contrarian point of view.