Should You Rent or Buy?

Why You Need to Stop Renting Your Home

…and when you should rent anyway… The definitive data-based answer on buying vs. renting…

Financial Strategy
Published in
8 min readJan 24, 2020

--

I was in my late 30s and still renting.

I knew I was throwing money away each month. Hundreds of thousands of dollars by that point…

I knew I had to do something about it, but somehow just thinking of scraping together a down payment, and worse, committing to paying a mortgage payment each month on pain of losing the house seemed overwhelming.

When I shared this with a friend, his response made all the difference.

He simply asked if I knew I couldn’t come up with the down payment and afford the mortgage payments, or if I was simply assuming it.

***Deer-in-headlights moment***

Ummm, I guess it was really me assuming it…

When I got home, I dug out an email someone had sent me a couple of weeks earlier. I can’t even remember who had sent it to me, but he suggested that if I ever needed a mortgage, I should contact the lender he worked with.

I called that lender, who suggested I take out a first mortgage for 80% loan-to-value (so I wouldn’t have to…

--

--

Opher Ganel
Financial Strategy

Consultant | systems engineer | physicist | writer | avid reader | amateur photographer. I write about personal finance from an often contrarian point of view.