The Surprising Secret To My Cold Calling Success

Mingan B.
FinBite
Published in
7 min readDec 15, 2018

I had never made a cold call in my life, but I had nothing to lose so I picked up the phone. I made my first cold call ever, and something amazing happened…

Photo by Berkeley Communications

I had created a couple of websites for family and friends, and realised that there may be potential in the web-design business. I wanted to give it a shot — but where was I going to get customers? I had never made a cold call in my life, but I had nothing to lose so I picked up the phone. I made my first cold call ever, and something amazing happened…

An old lady picked up the phone. I introduced myself and explained where I had got her number (from her Facebook page). I told her that I was impressed by her Facebook page, but was surprised to see that she doesn’t have a website. “I’d love to help you with a website. And as I’m just getting started in this business I’d be able to do it for an unbeatable price.

I was shocked by her reply. She said yes. It was my first cold call ever, and I got the business — right there, over the phone. I went on to make a few more calls and found that at least one out of every ten people agreed for me to come to see them about a website.

I had unknowingly discovered the secret to cold calling success. (And it wasn’t having the right script). It may not work for everyone, but it’s certainly working well for me.

The problem with traditional cold calling

Initially, I had stumbled upon a recipe that worked by accident. Later, I reflected and realised what I was doing. I was doing the opposite of what most other cold callers do.

We’ve all been annoyed by cold callers, which means we all have a relatively good idea of what they do to annoy us:

1. Their first sentence sounds like a cold call.

In 99% of cold calls, I recognise it to be a cold call by the first sentence. I’m immediately annoyed, and looking for a way to get them to “go away”.

Photo by tanialee gonzalez

How do I know it’s a cold call? The call sounds cold.
Here’ an example:

Salesman: “Good afternoon. Is this Mr. Tomp- Thompe- Thompe-son speaking?”

Mr. Thompson: *Thinks: Ah, it’s a cold call.*

I won’t make a call if I don’t have the person’s first name. I also need to be able to pronounce it before I’ll pick up the phone. If I can’t pronounce it, I’ll Google it and look at the phonetics. I might not get it right, but I’ll try my best.

I’ll also make a point of greeting the person warmly and familiarly. Remember, the goal is to get the other person to want to speak to you. You don’t want “a minute of his time” — you want his interest, curiosity, and participation. Here’s an example:

Salesman: Hi, is it Robert speaking?
Mr. Thompson: Yes, it’s him speaking.
Salesman: Hi Robert! It’s (my name) here. How are you doing?

The most important part is how you say it. If you sound bored or insincere the person will pick it up. The most important words here are: “How are you doing”. If you find it in yourself to truly care about their reply (as odd as it may sound), it will come through in your voice.

Really caring about how they’re doing before speaking to them is key. If you ask compassionately and sincerely you’ll get just that kind of reply: sincere.

2. They never tell you where they got your number

It’s always annoyed me, as I’m sure it’s annoyed you. Cold callers seem to plague me on a weekly basis, yet I’m very careful with whom I give my number to. They just seem to guess my name and number.

I do it the other way around. Right after asking how they are I’ll tell them where I got their number. I’ll do it something like this:

Salesman: I was browsing around on Facebook and found your plumbing business there. I was quite impressed but noticed you don’t seem to have a website. Does your business have a website?

So far I’ve shown them that I care about them and that I’m honest and up-front.

3. They try to sell you something

Normally the next thing a cold caller will do is tell you what they’re selling. It’s your golden opportunity to say no, and get rid of them.

So why not flip it around? The next thing you should do is tell them what you can do for them. Make it their golden opportunity to get something they need. Here’s an example:

Salesman: … Does your business have a website?
Mr.Thompson: No, we don’t have a website yet.
Salesman: Well then I’m glad I decided to give you a call. I’m a website designer based in (your area), and I’d love to help you with a website for your business. I see your business is quite new. I’m just getting started myself, so I’ll be able to help you at a great discount.

I don’t guarantee it will work. In fact, a lot of times it won’t. But I’ve had the most success using this method.

4. They just don’t give up

After you’ve said no is normally the point where the call turns really cold. The salesman will start trying to convince you, or even worse… Start arguing with you about why you need what they’re selling.

Photo by mwangi gatheca

Over time I’ve learned two very valuable things:

  1. You’ll very rarely be able to turn a no into a yes
  2. When you do, it will seldom be worth it

In most cases trying to turn a no into a yes just isn’t worth the time it takes. Why spend the time trying to turn someone who doesn’t want your product into someone who does? You can probably make three other calls in the time it takes to try to turn a no into a yes.

The other person also won’t easily change their mind. It’s human nature. Once they’ve assumed a position they will defend it. It quickly becomes a matter of honour, rather than a decision to buy a product.

The other important consideration is this: Goodwill is more important than a sale. I live by that motto. A client’s goodwill is worth more than their money. I’ve had customers that initially said “no thanks” call me a week to a month later for a website — all because I had their goodwill.

When a client says “no thanks” I accept it graciously, thank them for their time, and give them my contact details in case they need me in the future or hear of someone who needs me. I’m very honest about it:

Mr. Thompson: Thanks for your call, but I don’t want a website for my business.
Salesman: No problem, I understand that. Not all businesses need a website. Especially businesses like yours that operate on word-of-mouth. Wouldn’t you like to take my contact details, in case you need me in future? It will also help me a great deal if you could pass them on to anyone you hear of needing a website.

Bar a few exceptions everyone I’ve ever called has taken my contact details. Granted, almost none of them ever came back to me — but because I was calling businesses in my area (people I’d likely meet in future)their goodwill was more important to me than convincing them to buy something.

The right way of making a cold call

The cold calling method that works time and time again for me can be boiled down to just one word: Sincerity.

Photo by Benjamin Parker

When I call people I don’t call to sell them anything. I call honestly and sincerely to tell them how I can help them. Getting a call from someone offering help is very different to a call from someone wanting to sell something.

Dale Carnegie, in his monumental book on human nature How to win friends and influence people, puts it brilliantly:

Arouse in the other person an eager want. He who can do this has the whole world behind him. He who cannot, walks alone.

It can be likened to a salesman working in a bait shop. It isn’t the job of the salesman to sell the customer a worm. (That’s what most salespeople try to do.)

The bait-salesman’s real job is to sell the customer a fish. If he can explain to the customer what type of fish he can catch with the bait, and why it will benefit him, then he has the whole world behind him.

My 6 Rules For Cold Calling Success:

  1. Never use a script
  2. Greet warmly, familiarly, and enthusiastically
  3. Be honest — tell them where you got their number and who you are
  4. Be sincere
  5. Arouse an eager want in the other person
  6. Accept a “no” graciously, and strive to end the call with their goodwill

We need to realise that the client doesn’t want to be sold anything. Our focus needs to shift from selling to a focus on making the customer want to buy.

--

--

Mingan B.
FinBite
Editor for

Mingan B. is a professional financial advisor, hobbyist writer, and part-time graphic designer and web-developer.