My Inspiration Location

Rob Crews
Find A Spark
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2016

I’d always had some idea of the factors that made me feel able to relax and think clearly. They were the normal kind of things — lack of distraction, quiet and calm.

Those things helped to increase the chances that I would feel my inspiration flow but they certainly didn’t guarantee it. I needed something more!

I’d describe an Inspiration Location as a place where you feel totally relaxed and able to let your inspiration flow. I found mine somewhere unexpected…

My location

I found mine on a train. Just a bog-standard train that you find throughout England. Nothing special!

I found that throughout my train journeys I was able to relax and think freely about ideas, exploring different tangents that I’d never considered. I could tell that I’d found my Inspiration Location, but I wasn’t sure what was so special about being on a train!

It took me a while to realise that it was because I didn’t feel like I had to do anything with my time. I was travelling from A to B and it was going to take X amount of time. For that time I was able to relax and do whatever I wanted! I felt no pressure to try and be ‘productive’… I just let my mind wander. If you can find a place that has a similar effect on you, cherish it!

Originally published at Find A Spark.

--

--

Rob Crews
Find A Spark

Founder of Find A Spark ⚡ Discoveries | Ideas | Actions | Communities | Read, learn, be inspired and feel enpowered.