Do You Need More Sleep?

Kelly Anne Sansom
Find Meaning

--

This past Saturday I ran the half marathon I’ve been training for. After today, I promise not to talk about it anymore. You’re welcome. Though I felt ready for the run, it was still a challenge for me. In order to arrive on time to catch the bus that shuttles runners to the start line at top of the canyon, I had to wake up at 3:30 am. I don’t know about you, but that is VERY early for me. The actual race started at 6:45, so there was a lot of waiting around in the rain.

Did I mention that it rained? The entire day. Wet shoes, wet hair, wet clothes. But we had planned and trained so weather was not going to stop us.

Running that distance was a challenge for me. The last three miles were especially hard. Throughout the course there were signs placed on the roadside with motivational sayings on them. Right about mile 10, there was a sign that said, “You run the first 2/3 of a race with your body, but your run the last 1/3 of a race with your heart. It’s your hearts turn.” I don’t know why this made me so emotional, but it did. Good thing is was raining…nobody could see my tears. After coming home from the race, I wanted three things… hot shower, hot soup, and to not be standing up. We got home pretty early, by 10:30 am, I think. My kids were just getting out of bed and even though it felt like I’d lived a life time that morning, their day was just beginning the day. I rested a while, but I still had a whole day to contend with. Tired or not.

All throughout the day, any little argument between my kids would send me over the edge.

I felt overwhelmed by everything and I cried at least 8 times. I was a mess.

At bed time (finally!) as he was walking down the hall to bed, my youngest son said, “Mom, I think I know why you were crying so much today. It’s because you woke up at 3 and you are just tired. You should get some sleep now. I think you need it.”

“Sleep on it.”

“Things will look better in the morning.”

“Tomorrow’s a new day.”

There is truth in these statements, right?

There is something beautiful about the nightly recharge we all get. It is part of this grand design of humanity. Our bodies are amazing creations which need nourishment and rest. But these requirements are not just needs, they can be wonderful gifts.

When I am overly tired, my emotions take over and I can’t think rationally or even cope with the small obstacles my life throws at me.

Sometimes, as I am trying to go to sleep at night, I will suddenly be overcome with a sense of panic and dread. Things went undone, I said the wrong thing to someone, I forgot this, I failed at that… my mind makes small issues into insurmountable mountains. But, I eventually get myself to sleep and when I wake up in the morning, I have a different perspective on all everything that was making my heart race the night before. I see everything as manageable (usually) and I have a whole new day to handle it all.

“Think in the morning. Act in the noon. Eat in the evening. Sleep in the night.” ~William Blake

Do you need more sleep?

It is recommended that we get 7 to 8 hours of sleep a night. There are many benefits to getting enough sleep. Here are a few:

Better health. Heart disease, diabetes, obesity, and chronic pain are all lowered when people are getting enough sleep. Resting allows our muscles, bones, and organs to repair themselves. It also keeps our immune system healthy. Creative, smarter and better memory. Sleep gives the brain an opportunity to reorganize data to help find a solution to problem, process newly learned information and organize and archive memories. Better mood. This one seems obvious. While sleep doesn’t guarantee a better mood, lack of sleep almost guarantees a bad one. Reduce stress. When your body is sleep deficient, it goes into a state of stress. Stress hormones can make it harder for you to sleep so this can be a vicious cycle, but worth the effort to tackle.

What is keeping you from sleeping?

Too many tasks? Social life? Can’t shut your mind off? I have compiled a list of things that might help you get the sleep your body and mind so desperately need.

~Write down your worries. Put them on paper so you can look it over in the morning. Putting it down on paper is a way to get them out of your head and table them for future examination.

~Make your bedroom cooler. Bodies need to cool down to fall asleep. I love being under a warm blanket while the air is cool around me.

~Exercise during the day. Do something that makes you sweat and accelerates your breathing and heart rate. This is the single best way to make me sleep well at night.

~Block out noise. I use a fan for white noise which I love. When traveling, I use a white noise app on my phone to simulate the fan.

~No screens right before bed. The light from an iPad or a cell phone inhibits your body’s ability to produce melatonin which is it’s sleep inducing chemical. Keep your bedroom dark.

~Flex and relax. While lying in bed, starting at your feet, flex the muscles there and then release them. Continue doing this with your legs, and on up your body until you’ve reached the crown of your head.

~Cut the caffeine. Or, at least cut if off after 3pm.

~Try this breathing technique: Exhale through your mouth. Close your mouth and inhale through your nose for a count of 4. Hold your breath for 7 counts. Exhale for 8 counts. Repeat the sequence 3 times.

~Read or listen to an audio book.

I hope these tips are helpful.

I know getting enough sleep is crucial to my overall happiness and health.

The morning after running that half marathon, my boys were all walking on eggshells and afraid to talk to me. I had to apologize for acting so crazy the day before and I told them I just needed a good night’s sleep. They all looked relieved to have me back to normal and the little one patted me on my head and said, “It’s ok mama. I know you’re not crazy.” I’ve got them fooled for now.

Originally published at findmeaning.net on May 19, 2015.

--

--