Ada's Poetry Alcove
Finding Beauty Daily
1 min readSep 30, 2016

--

Day 171 – Leafless Trees- Haibun Journey Beauty Each Day

Today’s beauty comes in the form of a leafless tree, I watch as the brown leaves drift slowly down and across the lawn like a a lilting butterfly. I look up at the bare branch and for a moment feel sad. Then I remember that with the bare tree I will be able to see the sunrises currently blocked by the leaves. Suddenly a leaf reattaches, a hummingbird has flown up to the branch. With the evening sun behind it, the silhouette of the bird looked just like a leaf. I thought how lucky I was that some of the branches were bare and I could see this delightful creature.

across the yard
long shadow fall
autumn afternoon

awaiting
the next big adventure
a bare branch

leafless trees
silhouettes the sun
autumn afternoon

Csrpe Diem leafless trees

--

--