Why I love this song! || Alter Bridge — Sin After Sin [Pawns and Kings]

Sin After sin is the 4th track off of the latest album by Alter Bridge, called Pawns and Kings. It is an epic song, and here is why.

Philip Marais
Finding Bohemian Rhapsody
4 min readOct 19, 2022

--

Alter Bridge — Pawns and Kings

Pawns and Kings is the 7th studio album by Alter Bridge. I am in the process of listening to the entire album, and right off hand, I don’t think it will rank amongst my favorites when the newness wares off.

I have recently been on a bit of an Alter Bridge binge, specifically the first album, One Day Remains. I simply love that album. I still vividly recall discovering Myles as a vocalist, alongside Mark Tremonti’s incredible guitar riffs.

I think Mark Tremonti is one of the most complete guitar players that have ever existed. His unique percussive riffing, married with the melodic lines. It is the first time I ever came across a guitarist that elected not to layer his rhythms with leads. His ability to construct epic-feeling riffs with integrated melody, is so unique. There are only a few other guitarists that could achieve this, that jump to mind immediately. Dimebag Darrell (though less melody, and more fuck you), Andrew Goldman (formerly the guitarist for Spanish Nu-Metal band, Nonpoint).

In response to a question posed by the Alter Bridge account on Twitter, “What is your favorite song on Pawns and Kings?”, this is my elongated response.

Alter Bridge — Sin after Sin|| 16/20

Sonic Magic || 4/5

This song starts off with the drums getting some groove going on the toms. The drum sound is so full and big, and by the time the bass joins, this production is just big and in your face. I love how it sounds.

The guitar tone is spot on. I have tried to copy Mark Tremonti’s tone for many years, especially the dirty guitar tones. I may well invest in an MT15 amplifier at some point in the future.

Musicianship and technical proficiency || 4/5

These guys are not super technical, but I think the quality of their musicianship is so high, that it allows them to focus, especially in this case, on the songs they want to construct. And from the drums to the vocals, this is just great musicianship.

Overall composition & Surprise || 4/5

The drum introduction, followed by the bass and clean guitars, before it breaks into the verse riff, including what sounds like an almost solo in the introduction…

This song feels like it was constructed for the musicians themselves, without regard for what the audience may expect from an Alter Bridge single.

It feels like they are just enjoying themselves, playing this track, writing out the different sections, and not rushing anything. Even taking the time to craft patient post-choruses and a long anticipation-building bridge.

Vocals || 4/5

This track sports the best of Myles Kennedy, but also sees a not-so-rare Mark Tremonti appearance on vocals. Mark Tremonti has a tremendous voice. If you have never heard him sing lead vocals on selected Alter Bridge tracks, his solo stuff, or the Frank Sinatra covers, you are missing out in a big way.

Lyrics || 3/5

I think the lyrics are quite well crafted. I would be out of place to speculate on the topic. I will say though, that I think the lyrics are really nicely crafted, and I am not left with a cringy feeling after reading them properly.

Melody/Riff || 5/5

This opening verse riff is Mark Tremonti at his very best. The palm-muted progression and that melodic run and turnaround back at the start of the verse are what makes Mark Tremonti so revered as a guitarist. Jesus Christ, this is a delicious riff.

Drums & Percussion || 4/5

The drums are so fitting. It is difficult to imagine another drummer than Scott Phillips to compliment these riffs. He has such a lazy, perfectly in-the-pocket feel to his drums. It reminds me of Godsmack’s original drummer Joe D’Arco, in a big way. The cymbal work, so space he leaves for the guitar riff… I seriously love how this sounds.

Feel || 4/5

It is a slower track, but the tightness between the guitars and the drums is spectacular. It feels perfect and natural. I cannot help making a stank face and banging my head!

Emotional epicness || 4/5

This song tells an epic story. The vocal melodies, the guitar riff, the drums, and the darker theme. It screams epic, in my opinion!

Conclusion

This track is my choice for favorite song. I love how they just wrote the shit out of this track, with little concern for the fact that it goes well over 6 minutes. This is music of the very highest caliber.

--

--

Philip Marais
Finding Bohemian Rhapsody

Geneticist-turned-software-engineer. Startups, Health & Nutrition, Music and Technology.